Introduction to the Baha’i Faith

The Baha’i Faith is an independent religion founded by the Bab and Baha’u’llah in the mid to late nineteenth century. The essence of the revelation of Baha’u’llah is the oneness of the humanity. It teaches that people of all religions and races should live together in peace and that all of mankind should be bound by the ties of love and affection. The Bab and Baha’u’llah sacrificed their own lives for establishing the message of love and unity in the world. While the Bab was executed, Baha’u’llah remained in exile and imprisonment throughout his life. Baha’u’llah revealed many laws and teachings, which are contained in Baha’i Holy Scripture, known as the Kitab-i-Aqdas. He also gave mankind twelve basic principles, so that they may be able to establish peace and justice in the world. They are as follows:

  1. The Oneness of Humanity
  2. Independent, Unfettered Investigation of the Truth
  3. Religion is Progressive, All having a Common Foundation
  4. Religion must be the Source of Unity
  5. True Science and True Religion must Correspond
  6. The Equality of Men and Women
  7. Removal of all Prejudice
  8. Universal Peace upheld by a Spiritual World Government
  9. Universal Compulsary Education
  10. A Spiritual Solution to the Economic Problem
  11. A Universal Auxiliary Language
  12. Universal House of Justice with the Davidic King

The twelve principles mentioned above are the core teachings of Baha’u’llah. In his writings, Baha’u’llah establishes an institution known as the Universal House of Justice, which is the supreme legislative and administrative institution of the Baha’i Faith. Today, the Universal House of Justice exists in the Rocky Mountains of the USA. Anything which is not specified in the Holy Writings of Baha’u’llah is referred to the Universal House of Justice, which is an infallible body according to the teachings of Baha’u’llah.